Life at best is bittersweet, it's just a series of trial and error.

Archive for May 21, 2011

Why Coaches Really Coach

William Brooks was the head football coach and he was selecting the players for his team for the next playing season when his secretary informed him that there was a young man who insisted on seeing him. William asked her to find out that position the boy played and have him fill out the information form.

She returned within a minute. “He’s five-foot-eleven, 165 pounds and plays defensive end. He’ll never make it.” Both of the returning defensive ends were over 225 pounds. Each was over six feet three inches tall and had been a two-year starter.

When William got half way out of his office, he was greeted by a veritable avalanche of enthusiasm.

“Hello, Coach Brooks. My name is Michael Gee. I’ll bet you never heard of me. But you will. I guarantee it!”

William said, “You’re right. I have no idea who you are or, frankly, why you’re even here. We’ve finished our recruitment and we start practice in less than six weeks. Our roster is closed. I’m sorry, but …”

“Coach, I’ve researched it already. Football is a student activity. I’ve applied and accepted as a freshman. I want to go out for the team. And you have to let me. I know the rules, Coach, but let me tell you why I can help you. I was a pre-season pick last year as an all-conference player. I started the season. I was always tired, always run down and I couldn’t put much pressure on my leg. I went to the doctor. The news wasn’t good. I had a malignant tumor in my thigh. But it’s ok now, Coach. I promise. Chemotherapy and rehabilitation have cleaned it up. I’ve even been working out. Coach, I know I can help you. I guarantee it! I can even run up to a mile without stopping.”

William was really taken aback by all of this. His first response was to insist on a doctor’s release. Michael gave it to him. William then asked if it was okay with Michael’s parents. Michael then gave him a letter from them.

As it turned out, Michael had William as his coach for the next four years. More correctly, it was lucky to have Michael in the team. Three games into his freshman year, he was a starter. He led the team in sacks. He led the squad in tackles. The team’s inspirational leader, Michael became the team captain. In addition, he was a dean’s list student and active in every phase of campus life.

William felt that he learned a lot more from Michael than he ever taught him. When they beat their rivals, Michael was the first to congratulate him and hoisted him to his shoulders. When they lost a tough game, Michael was the first to say, “Hey, Coach, it’s just a game.” Michael is the one who really does keep coaches coaching.