This blog will hopefully inspire you, warm your heart, make you smile and feel positive.

The Hardest Truth In Life

hideo

It’s New Year again; did you make you New Year’s resolutions? When looking back, how many New Year’s resolutions did you actually achieve? There are always regrets in life that some dreams cannot be fulfilled; some people cannot be let go.

In a Japanese variety show, a group of elders were asked what they would say if they had a chance to speak to their younger self. There was a 76 years old man named Hideo, he talked to his 18 years old self:

Hey Hideo, I know you are planning to apply to a top university in Tokyo.
In order to motivate you to study harder, I’ll tell you the outcome in advance.
You’ll make 2 attempts but both fail and you will end up going to a less famous university.

The audiences laughed, they thought Hideo was funny … until the second part when he talked to his 24 years old self:

Hideo, you will meet and date a girl named Hana at work.
Due to your introverted personality, you’re not sure whether you should get married or not.
But I tell you, if you love Hana, just propose to her.
As 2 years later, she will get sick … then pass away.

OMG! The audiences were now sad with tears in their eyes while Hideo continued:

Also Hideo, please tell Hana that I love her very much.
And you will still be single at the age of 76.

Breakups, divorces and affairs happen everyday. But there also exists a pure relationship that people only love one person in their whole life, despite that person is still around or not. Hideo reminds me the movie dialogue from Stephen Chow’s “Journey to the West”:

There was once a sincere love in front of me, but I did not cherish it. When I lost it, I can only regret. There is nothing more painful than this in life. If I can have a second chance, I will tell her these three words: “I Love You”. If I have to give a duration to this love, I hope it will be a thousand years.

This is voted as the most touching movie dialogue in Hong Kong. Although I feel it’s overpraised, it illustrates the hardest truth in life. In the end, we only regret the chances we didn’t take, the relationships we were afraid to have and the decisions we waited too long to make. If you love someone – love them now. Don’t wait until it’s too late, you might not get another chance. We won’t have a thousand years.

Leave a Reply

