This blog will hopefully inspire you, warm your heart, make you smile and feel positive.

Life Short, Live Today

live

My aunt passed away last week. Last time I saw her was 2 years ago when I was back to Hong Kong. She was still healthy and we had dinner together. If I know that was our final meal, I will give her a hug at the end. Sometimes I wonder after we were gone, did we leave a trail in this world or it’s just like flipping a switch to turn everything off?

When I was gone – there won’t be any new posts to this blog, no more updates on my Facebook, my Gmail will be stuffed with emails, my Evernote and OneNote will become ghost accounts in the cypher world. Colleagues who don’t know I was gone will still endorse me in LinkedIn, of course I won’t endorse them back. But one day if I stop posting to this blog, don’t think I’m probably dead – there is a good chance that I may just give up blogging.

We know deep down that life is short, and death will happen to all of us eventually, and yet we are still surprised when it happens to someone we know. It’s like walking up a flight of stairs with a distracted mind, and misjudging the final step. You expected there to be one more stair than there is, and so you find yourself off balance for a moment, before your mind shifts back to the present moment and how the world really is.

Live your life today! Don’t ignore death, but don’t be afraid of it either. Be afraid of a life you never lived because you were too afraid to take action. Death is not the greatest loss in life. The greatest loss is what dies inside you while you’re still alive. Be bold. Be courageous. Be scared to death. And then take the next step in life anyway.

Leave a Reply

