This blog will hopefully inspire you, warm your heart, make you smile and feel positive.

Appointed Catfish

fish

In the north-eastern United States codfish are a big commercial business. In order to keep the codfish fresh from the coastline to the market, they were placed in the tank of water along with their natural enemy – the catfish.

From the time the cod left the East Coast until it arrived at its westernmost destination, those ornery catfish chased the cod all over the tank. And when the cod arrived at the market; they were as fresh as when they were first caught.

I quitted my previous job of 7 years a month ago – better career growth, better money, and new skills to learn. On my last day, there were farewell lunch, the goodbye card, the gift, speech and the exit interview.

How do you see yourself now and 7 years ago?
Well, after all those unrealistic project schedules, last-minute changes, dealing with people with different interests, I think I’m more confident and flexible. Quite frankly, I thank all my colleagues for making me mature and shaping my character in these 7 years.

Each of us is in a tank of particular and inescapable circumstances. It is painful enough to stay in the tank. But in addition to our situation, there are “catfish” to bring sufficient tension that keeps us alive, alert, fresh and growing. I’m moving from one tank to another and I know there will be other catfish waiting. And I’m ready. Let the chase begin.

Leave a Reply

