This blog will hopefully inspire you, warm your heart, make you smile and feel positive.

Call from a Stranger

My mobile rang and the call was from a private number. I answered it.

Hi, my name is Victoria. I think we talked before, I’m the community worker who responsible for your mom. I just found out that your mom had passed away. I’m calling to say I’m so sorry for your loss.

Oh … thanks. (What am I going to say?)

I visited her twice in the nursing home. Although she’s sick, she still tried to do things by herself and keep herself busy. I hope I can do more for her. Such a kind lady … (Sounds like fighting back her tears)

Yeah, she told me about you. Well, there’s not much we can do about her sickness.

Luckily she has you.

(Suddenly a lump in my throat) … I just tried to do everything that can make her feel more comfortable.

I stared at my phone screen after we hung up. Victoria’s voice was still echoed in my mind. Luckily she has you. After all the condolences from relatives and friends, no one has ever said this to me – and today this was from a stranger who I have never met. I think I get used to living my life without mom – but not quite.

My first day of school; my first swimming lesson; first time I ride the bike; my first soccer practice; my mom was always there. I earned my first dollar by doing the housework for her. When I was sick, she insisted on bringing me to the doctor. She would clean up the mess I made and said with a smile, “Kids are like that.” I wasn’t aware that my mom is also the link of our family. Now my sister rarely comes over, my father and I seldom talk to each other, and the house is so quiet.

Fate has brought you and your parents together, so treasure every moment and enjoy the journey. People say you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone. The truth is, you knew exactly what you had; you just thought you’d never lose it. Hug your loved ones and tell them how much you care for them now because when they are gone … no matter how loud you shout and cry, they won’t hear you anymore.

Comments on: "Call from a Stranger" (2)

  1. I remember when My mother passed and it felt like no one cared and it was a stranger that lived across the street from me whom I had never met but heard about my mothers passing from a friend of my that I did not know she knew… This stranger brought me a card and told me she was so sorry for my loss, words that no one close to me offered. I still to this day think of that stranger and know that it is only those of us who go through things can relate to others going through the same.

    Your mother is not gone, she will still hear your cries, and see everything that goes on in your life… I tell you that not from speculation but from fact and my truth. When your mothers appears in a dream that is her visit, when thoughts of her pop in your head or a song or a penny or anything in nature brings you a sign it will be from her… those goose bumps are a spiritual hug from her and she is not missing a thing.

Leave a Reply

