This blog will hopefully inspire you, warm your heart, make you smile and feel positive.

End of the Road

boyz

End of the Road” was recorded in the 1992 single with the same name of Boyz II Men, an American R&B vocal group. The group was initially started by 4 members: Nathan Morris, Wanya Morris, Shawn Stockman, and Michael McCary. In 2003, Michael McCary left the group due to health issues. Boyz II Men was best known for their multiple-lead arrangement and smooth harmonies. After “End of the Road” was released, it became their biggest hit. The song stayed at number one on the Billboard Hot 100 for 13 weeks. And that was the time I migrated to Australia alone. The song was so popular that it was always played on radio and I could often watch its music video on TV. The song also reminds me of that period of time – the loneliness in a foreign city and uncertainty of the life ahead.

Said we’d be forever
Said it’d never die
How could you love me and leave me
And never say goodbye?

When I studied abroad in UK, I knew another international student who was in the final year of his studies. He was dating a local girl whose family was in UK. To us, they were a sweet couple who were always together – shopping, cooking, watching movies, traveling, attending some university’s events. And the girl sometimes slept over at his place. Then he graduated and left UK, we wondered whether the girl would go overseas to join him. She didn’t.

When I can’t sleep at night without holding you tight
Girl, each time I try I just break down and cry
Pain in my head oh I’d rather be dead
Spinning around and around

Soon after the new term had begun, we found that the girl was together with one of my classmates. No one mentioned anything and life proceeded as normal. I thought only me felt this was odd at that time. Should love be eternal? Those movies and TV dramas that I watched before might be lying and relationship could be so casual in reality. I didn’t hear any news about them after graduation. But when I think about this now after all these years, people are always dependent on others and love is sometimes just a matter of choice. A relationship usually relies on who walks into your life at the right place in the right time. People change. Love changes. And life goes on.

Although we’ve come to the end of the road
Still I can’t let you go
It’s unnatural, you belong to me, I belong to you

Leave a Reply

