This blog will hopefully inspire you, warm your heart, make you smile and feel positive.

The Best Time of My Life

besttime

The son would be turning thirty in two days. He was insecure about entering a new decade of his life and feared that his best years were now behind him. Feeling anxious about turning thirty, he asked his father, “Dad, what was the best time of your life?”

His dad replied, “Well, son, this is my philosophical answer to your philosophical question:

When I was a child, everything was taken care of for me and I was nurtured by my parents, that was the best time of my life.

When I was going to school and learning the things I know today, that was the best time of my life.

When I got my first job and had responsibilities and got paid for my efforts, that was the best time of my life.

When I met your mum and fell in love, that was the best time of my life.

The war came, and your mum and I had to flee the country to save our lives. When we were together and safe on a ship bound for here, that was the best time of my life.

When we came to here and started a family, that was the best time of my life.

When I was a young father, watching my children grow up, that was the best time of my life.

And now, son, I am nearly seventy years old. I have my health, I feel good and I am in love with your mum just as I was when we first met. This is the best time of my life.”

The happiest of people don’t necessarily have the best of everything; they just make the most of everything that comes along their way.

Leave a Reply

