This blog will hopefully inspire you, warm your heart, make you smile and feel positive.

My Fifth Husband

When Thelma’s husband passed away, her children suggested that she move to a “senior living community”. As a gregarious and life-loving person, Thelma decided to do so.

When Thelma turned 80, her newfound friends showed their appreciation by throwing a surprise birthday party for her. When Thelma entered the dining room for dinner that night, she was greeted by a standing ovation and one of the coordinators led her to the head table. The night was filled with laughter and entertainment, but throughout the evening, Thelma could not take her eyes off a gentleman sitting at the other end of the table.

When the festivities ended, Thelma quickly rose from her seat and rushed over to the man. “Pardon me,” Thelma said. “Please forgive me if I made you feel uncomfortable by staring at you all night. I just couldn’t help myself from looking your way. You see, you look just like my fifth husband.”

“Your fifth husband!” replied the gentleman. “Forgive me for asking, but how many times have you been married?”

With that, a smile came across Thelma’s face as she responded, “Four.”

They were married shortly after.

Thelma of course did not marry four times. Humor is mankind’s greatest blessing.

 

Comments on: "My Fifth Husband" (3)

  1. Hi! I have just nominated you for the Reader Appreciation Award – http://manishamishra.wordpress.com/2012/08/08/reader-appreciation-award/. I would be very happy if you accept :).

    Thank you :D!

    • Thank you so much for nominating me! I’m surprised and more than happy to accept it. But need to check the rules.

      • My pleasure :). I’ve read your posts and I really appreciate your efforts to create positive feelings in people. Positive feelings are what we seek fervently yet usually overlook. Congratulations and thank you for accepting 😀

Leave a Reply

