This blog will hopefully inspire you, warm your heart, make you smile and feel positive.

Diane suffered an unbearable loss – the death of her 17-year-old daughter, Katie, in an auto accident. In the midst of her grief, she received a letter from the sheriff’s deputy who had been at the scene.

Mr. & Mrs. Weinman,

I am sorry for the loss of your daughter. I am writing this letter to you because I have three teenage children of my own, a son and two daughters. If any of them died, I would want to know the things that I am going to tell you.

I came upon the accident scene on an icy stretch of road. Katie was in the driver’s seat. She had received a severe blow to the left side of her head, and the force had rendered her unconscious. I lifted her head to ease her breathing; then I held her gently and kindly until the rescue personnel arrived. After a few minutes, it was clear that Katie did not survive, but we did not stop helping her breath until an electronic monitor was connected to her and verified that she was gone. 

I wanted you to know that Katie was not awake, frightened and suffering – she never regained consciousness. I also wanted you to know that she did not die alone. She died being held by a father who loves his own teenage daughters, and knows how precious children are. I am sorry this happened to your little girl. Please call me if you should ever wish to talk about that day.

Prayerfully,
Robert Gross
Lane County Sheriff’s Department

Sometimes we must not only give what we have; we must also give what we are.

 

Leave a Reply

