This blog will hopefully inspire you, warm your heart, make you smile and feel positive.

Yesterday Once More

When I was young
I’d listen to the radio
Waitin’ for my favorite songs
When they played I’d sing along
It made me smile

Those were such happy times
And not so long ago
How I wondered where they’d gone
But they’re back again
Just like a long lost friend
All the songs I loved so well

When I was in primary school, I only needed to attend the morning class for half the day. Knowing there was someone who shared my desk in the afternoon class, I started to communicate through written notes put in the drawer. The other student was a girl and she replied. We mostly talked about the school life, the subjects we studied, our teachers, and exchanged some exam tips with each other – a way to communicate before the time of internet, email and social network.

After school, I normally back home and had lunch, did my homework while listening to the radio. At that time, people still wrote letters to the DJs and dedicated the songs to their friends. Grand-mum would be busy in preparing dinner by late afternoon and I might watch some TVs – superman killing monsters, adventures to outer space, protecting earth from aliens. So, I always dreamed about having special power and changing the world when I grow up.

Parents arrived home from work in the evening and the whole family had dinner together. After dinner, I continued doing my homework or revising what was taught in the school. Homework seemed never ending. Was I too slow or day-dreaming most of the time? At night before I slept, I might peep through my bedroom window down the park below and see if I can find any ghosts – there was a rumor that the park was a graveyard before. The girl next door was always practicing her recorder by that time and I could hear the notes over the night air.

Every Sha-la-la-la
Every Wo-o-wo-o
Still shines
Every shing-a-ling-a-ling
That they’re startin’ to sing’s
So fine

When they get to the part
Where he’s breakin’ her heart
It can really make me cry
Just like before
It’s yesterday once more

In memory, my parents were always busy at work. So, my childhood was mostly spent with grand-mum. When I started high school, I needed to stay at the school for longer hours. It would be around four in the afternoon when I arrived home and I usually felt really hungry due to the early lunch at school. Grand-mum’s hot soup noodle became the highlight of those school days.

In a public housing environment, we had close relationship with our neighbors and knew everyone living in the block. Kids with similar age naturally became friends and played together. Our doors were seldom locked and it was normal to walk to my friends’ homes, chat about stories at school and in the block, borrow some reference books or stationeries, and then back home. We ran a lot those days – running up the stairs and racing with the lift (lift was proved to be faster most of the time); chasing each other through the corridors that connected the buildings; and playing basketball in the playground.

Lookin’ back on how it as
In years gone by
And the good times that I had
Makes today seem rather sad
So much has changed

It was songs of love that
I would sing to then
And I’d memorize each word
Those old melodies
Still sound so good to me
As they melt the years away

I studied in a boys’ high school. It had an indoor sport hall and an outdoor football/basketball court that we used alternately for our PE classes. However, if this was our turn to use the sport hall for the PE class but it was not available due to public exam or other activities, we would have a cross-country run. At that time, I didn’t enjoy running that much, it was exhausted as there were a number of up hills around the school. I also felt embarrassed for everyone saw me running on the streets, especially the girls from other schools. But it might give me a good foundation to pick up distance running many years later.

Half way through high school, everyone started studying hard for the entry to higher education or university. Those textbooks, lecture notes, reference books, mock exam questions were my every day companion. I attended tuition classes, formed study groups and studied in the library till late. Although I may now forget most of the knowledge gained from school back then, we need to do things in vain at different stages in life.

Every sha-la-la-la
Every wo-o-wo-o
Still shines
Every shing-a-ling-a-ling
That they’re startin’ to sing’s
So fine

All my best memories
Come back clearly to me
Some can even make me cry
Just like before
It’s yesterday once more

Those years, fearless and being wild; the world was much safer and warmer; people were closer and the music was better. My family, friends, classmates and other people I met – you all gave me a unique and happy childhood. Although I don’t have any special power, I hope my existence might in turn change your world a bit. Also to the childhood’s me, thank you for living so fully in those years – the passion and excitement about life; and the attitude in questioning and challenging everything. Although life alters those dreams and leads to a different path, what we remember from childhood we remember forever.

 

Leave a Reply

